

51st Southern Soybean Disease Workers Annual Meeting

The 51st meeting of the Southern Soybean Disease Workers will be held on March 6-7, 2024, at the Hilton Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel in Pensacola Beach, FL

President: Ian Small (ismall@ufl.edu)

Vice President: Travis Faske (<u>tfaske@uada.edu</u>) 501-266-3657

Treasurer: Trey Price (PPrice@agcenter.lsu.edu)

Meeting Registration and Hotel Reservations

Registration cost based on time of registration.

	Early	Late	
	(Jan. 19)	(after Jan. 19)	
Faculty/Industry	\$125	\$150	
Student (non-presenting)	\$100	\$125	
Student (presenting)	\$75	\$100	

Registration link: → <u>SSDW Registration 2024</u> by Feb. 2, 2024. Yes, all you need to do is complete the information on the Excel file.

SSDW Fed ID #71-0527815.

If you have any questions regarding registration, please contact Travis Faske.

The Hilton Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel is the recommended conference hotel. A block of rooms has been reserved for attendees at rates of \$165, \$185, or \$255 per night for a King Room, King Room Deluxe View, or Suite Gulf view, respectively.

Reservation deadline: February 1, 2024.

Booking Code: 91V

Direct Booking Link: → SSDW Housing 20224

Hilton Pensacola Beach Gulf Front 12 Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561 1-850-916-2999



51st SSDW Annual Meeting Call for Papers

Have an idea about an soybean discussion topic? Contact Travis Faske or Ian Small.

Deadlines:

- Abstract titles and author names due on January 19, 2024
- Abstracts are due on February 9, 2024
- Send titles and abstracts to Travis Faske at <u>tfaske@uada.edu</u>. Please include "SSDW" in the subject line.

Graduate Student Presentation Awards: There will be three awards for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place presentations with an award amount of \$500, \$350, and \$250, respectively. All graduate students who submit an abstract (by the due date) and present their paper at the meeting will be eligible for the award. Please indicate if you are a graduate student when submitting your abstract. Selection of the award will be based on the quality of the abstract and presentation.

Abstract Guidelines: Please submit an electronic copy of the abstract as a Microsoft Word file. If you do not receive an email indicating your abstract was received, please follow up with a phone call or second e-mail. Guidelines for abstracts are as follows:

- No more than one page in length (maximum of 300 words).
- Single spaced text, double space between paragraphs, full justification (right side flush at margin).
- Title in 14 point, Times New Roman font, **bold**, with author(s), affiliation(s), and text in 12-point Times New Roman font.
- Title, author(s), and affiliation(s) centered, with double space between them. Top margin 1.5 inches, side, and bottom margins 1 inch.

Call or email Travis Faske if you have any questions.



51st SSDW Annual Meeting Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves in the area of soybean disease research and education. Contributions may have been made in the academic, industry, or extension sectors.

Nominations for this award should be emailed to Ian Small at <u>ismall@ufl.edu</u> by **February 16, 2024.** Nomination packets should include a letter of support detailing accomplishments.

PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS

(* = Junior Award, ** = Senior Award)

1975	W.W. Osborne R.V. Sturgeon M.C. McDaniel	1985 R. Rodríguez-Kábana Bob Keeling	1995	No award	2005 No award	2015 Jim Marois
1976	W. Walls L. Farrar	1986 M.C. McDaniel G.T. Berggren. Jr.	1996	J. Allen Wrather	2006 Roger Boerma	2016 Tom Allen
1977	N. Horn A. Chambers J. Fennel	1987 Don Hershman* Bob Riggs**	1997	No award	2007 Grover Shannon	2017 Clayton Hollier
1978	C. Baldwin Ray Smith	1988 Jim Gershey* Bill Gazaway**	1998	No award	2008 Sung Lim	2018 John Rupe
1979	J. Walters H.W. Crittenden	1989 John Rupe* Jim Arnett**	1999	Steve Koenning	2009 Michael Schmidt	2019 Ed Sikora
1980	Harlan Smith Sid Stephens	1990 John Damicone* Johnnie Snow**	2000	No award	2010 Jason Bond	2020 No award
1981	Billy Moore	1991 Terry Niblack* Gabe Sciumbato**	2001	Bob Mulrooney	2011 Boyd Padgett	2021 No award
1982	James Epps Dick Stuckey Vernon White	1992 Gary Lawrence* Glenn Hammes**	2002	Kathy McLean	2012 Alemu Mengistu	2022 Trey Price
1983	Melvin Newman	1993 Pat Colyer* Eldon Barett**	2003	No award	2013	2023 Loren Giesler
1984	Glenn Whitney	1994 John Russin* Joe Fox**	2004	No award	2014 Ray Schneider	