## **USDA NC-1023 Meeting**

### **Engineering for Food Safety and Quality**

# October 14-16, 2018 Wells Conference Center, University of Maine Orono, Maine

Chair: Gustavo Barbosa-Canovas Chair-Elect: Gail Bornhorst

Past-chair: Yanyun Zhao Secretary: Rohan Tikekar

Admin Advisor: David Jackson

djackson@nebraska.edu

Host: Balu Nayak Phone: 207 -581-1687

balunkeswar.nayak@maine.edu

#### **Hotel:**

University Inn Academic Suites
5 College Avenue
Orono, ME 04473

Please call 207-866-4921 and mention **FOODAG** Conference Code to book hotel room

#### **Meeting location:**

Wells Conference Center- Room 3 University of Maine

#### **Registration procedures**

• Registration fee: \$250

• Go to <a href="https://umaine.edu/conferences/current-registrations/">https://umaine.edu/conferences/current-registrations/</a> to register for the meeting.

## **AGENDA**

## Sunday, October 14th

**6:00** pm Shuttle leaves from the hotel (University Inn) to the restaurant.

**6:30 - 8:30 pm** Welcome Dinner/Mixer – Seasons Restaurant

427 Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401

Transportation from the University Inn Academic Suites is provided for those who do not have a rental car.

## Monday, October 15th

7:00 - 8:00 am	Breakfast provided – Option at your hotel and will be offered at the Conference Center at 7:45am (transportation will be provided to the conference center)
8:00 - 9:00 am	Registration at Wells Conference Center – Room 3 (facility available for web conferencing)
9:00 - 10:15 am	(i) Opening comments –
	(ii) Station Member Introductions
	(iii) Welcome presentation by Fred Servello, Dean, College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture.
	(iv) Washington Update –
	(v) NC 1023 Administrator Update
	(vi) Steering Committee Report –

10:15 - 10:30 am Break

10:30 - 12:00 pm (i) Approval of Previous Meeting's Minutes

(ii) Begin Station Reports based on the alphabetic order of station name. Focus on collaborative research projects -15 min. max. presentation & 5 min Q/A

**12:00 - 1:00 pm** *Lunch provided (group photo will be taken during lunch break)* 

**1:00 - 2:0 pm** Ad-Hoc committee meetings

2:00 - 3:00 pm (ii) Station Reports (continued) 3:00 - 3:15 pm Break Tour – (i) UMaine Aquaculture Research facilities; 3:15 - 4:15 pm (ii) UMaine Advanced Structures and Composite Center 4:15 - 5:00 pm Network with local faculty/students and/or invited technical presentations OR CoFE updates Shuttle from the hotel (University Inn) to restaurant (McLaughlin's at the 6:00 pm Marina) 6:30 - 8:30 pm McLaughlin's at the Marina, 100 Marina Road, Hampden, ME (207-990-1111) (https://mclaughlinsmarinarestaurant.com/)

## Tuesday, October 16th

7:00 - 8:00 am	Breakfast provided – Option at the hotel or at the Wells Conference Center during this time. (transportation will be provided to the Conference center)
8:00 - 8:45 am	Ad-Hoc committee reports
8:45 - 9:15 am	Elect new secretary, steering committee members, host station for 2019, 2020.
9:15 - 10:15 am	Station reports (continued)
10:15 – 10: 30 am	Break
10:30 – 10:45 am	NC – 1023 welcome presentation by the 2019 host
10:45 - 12:30 pm	Station reports (continued)
12:30 - 1:30 pm	Lunch provided
2:00 pm	Adjourn

#### NC-1023 Ad-Hoc Committee Membership

#### **NC-1023 Executive Committee**

Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas, Chair Gail Bornhorst, Chair-Elect Yanyun Zhao, Past-Chair Rohan Tikekar, Secretary Balu Nayak, Host

#### **NC-1023 Steering Committee**

Lester Wilson, Chair

#### 1. Nonthermal Processing

Bala Balasubramaniam (Chair)

Jen-Yi Huang Silvana Martini

Rohan Tikekar (co-Chair)

Mukund Karwe

Gustavo Barbosa-Cánovas

Dharmendra Mishra

Jen-Yi Huang

Ilce Medina Meza

#### 2. Extraction of Bioactive Components

Gonul Kaletunc (Chair)

Yanyun Zhao

Elena Castell-Perez

Roger Ruan

Jen-Yi Huang

Lester Wilson

Haibo Huang

Ozan Ciftci (co-Chair)

Balu Nayak

Gustavo Barbosa-Cánovas

Sam Chang

Ilce Medina Meza

#### 3. Mathematical Modeling

Ashim Datta (Chair)

Akinbode Adedeji

Jeyam Subbiah

Pawan Takhar

Kirk Dolan

Dharmendra Mishra (co-Chair)

Mukund Karwe

Deepti Salvi

## 4. Teaching Food Engineering to Engineers

Kirk Dolan (Chair)

Akinbode Adedeji

Haibo Huang

Jeyam Subbiah

Mukund Karwe

Gonul Kaletunc

Fu-Hung Hsieh

Jeanne Gleason

**Brad Marks** 

Yan (Susie) Liu

Rogers Ruan

#### 5. Physical Properties

Rich Hartel (Chair)

Helen Joyner (co-Chair)

Lester Wilson Ozan Ciftci Gail Bornhorst Balu Nayak

Rohan Tikekar

Gustavo Barbosa-Cánovas

Fanbin Kong Silvana Martini

Bongkosh (Jeab) Vardhanabhuti

#### 6. Nanotechnology

Graciela Padua (Chair)

Fernanda San Martin

Carmen Gomes

Soojin Jun

Ozan Ciftci

Silvana Martini

Gail Bornhorst

Balu Nayak

Yanyun Zhao

Youngsoo Lee

Fanbin Kong