## S-1086 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes

The annual meeting of the S-1086 technical committee was held on May 24-25, 2023, at the University of Arkansas Pauline Whitaker Animal Science Arena in Fayetteville, AR. Dr. Jeremy Powell officially called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. on May 24<sup>th</sup>. Universities in attendance included the University of Arkansas, Texas A&M University, Mississippi State University, South Dakota State University, and the University of Florida. Dr. Mike Looper, Department Head of the University of Arkansas Department of Animal Science, welcomed everyone to Arkansas and gave an overview of the department. Dr. Powell then introduced Dr. Nathan McKinney, Associate Vice President of Agriculture, who gave an overview of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. Dr. McKinney then introduced Dr. Gary Thompson, Executive Director of SAAESD, who gave an update from USDA regarding an overview of the needs for this multistate project. Specifically, he discussed the need for an upcoming renewal, since the project is currently in year 4 of 5 of the project life cycle. Members were then selected on a volunteer basis for the Nominating Committee (Dr. Rhonda Vann, Dr. Trent Smith, and Dr. Andy Herring) and the Resolutions Committee (Dr. David Riley and Dr. Bryan Kutz). Dr. Powell then gave a presentation to further elaborate on plans for the renewal. Station reports took place between 9:00 am and 12:00 pm, followed by lunch. After lunch, members toured the University of Arkansas Research Farms, including the Milo J. Shult Agricultural Farm, the Physiology and Parasitology Farm, and the Savoy Research Unit (Cow-Calf and Stocker Units).

At 8:00 a.m. on May 25<sup>th</sup>, the group met again at the University of Arkansas Pauline Whitaker Animal Science Arena. Dr. Jeremy Powell shared a written report from Dr. Bob Godfrey, NIFA Liaison, with updates on the changes and outlook for the NIFA program. Then, station reports continued through mid-morning, followed by a tour of the Tyson Foods Research and Discovery Center in Springdale, AR. Lunch was then served at the University of Arkansas Pauline Whitaker Animal Science Arena.

Dr. David Riley submitted the Resolutions Committee report (see Appendix C). Dr. Andy Herring made a motion to accept the committee report and Dr. Trent Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

Dr. Rhonda Vann submitted the Nominations Committee report. The Nominating Committee made the following nominations: Dr. Trent Smith (Chair), Dr. Brittni Littlejohn (Chair Elect) and Dr. Michael Gonda (Secretary). The nominated individuals were elected by unanimous vote. Dr. Jeremy Powell led a group discussion on possible objectives for the next project. Proposed objectives were drafted by the group and will be shared by email with members. A summary of the discussion for the next projects objectives includes:

Proposed Title: Characterizing adaptation of cattle to their production environment

Proposed Objective Areas:

• Adaptation to local production and environmental challenges

- Heat stress and sweat glands
- Water intake
- Genetic resistance to parasites
- Teeth and longevity
- Heterosis: Brahman and Angus
- Systems approach to analyzing novel ERTs associated with production including longevity, fertility and meat quality database creation.
  - Birth weight
  - Heifer development
  - o Sire
  - Temperament
  - Carcass ultrasonography
  - Fertility
  - Parasite loads

Dr. Bryan Kutz made a motion to host next year's meeting at Mississippi State University (Starkville, MS). Dr. Michael Gonda seconded the motion. The motion passed by unanimous vote. It was suggested that next year's meeting take place May 22-23, 2024.

Dr. Andy Herring motioned to adjourn the meeting and Dr. Jeremy Powell seconded the motion. Meeting minutes are respectfully submitted by Dr. Brittni Littlejohn, secretary.