## S-1086 10/1/2021 – 9/30/2022 Annual Meeting Minutes

The annual meeting of the S-1086 technical committee was held on May 24-25, 2022, at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Center in McGregor, TX.

Dr. David Riley officially called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. on May 24<sup>th</sup>. After an introduction of the committee members, Dr. Andy Herring, Interim Department Head, TAMU Animal Science Department, welcomed everyone to Texas and gave an overview of the department. He then introduced Dr. Ryon Walker, Operations Manager, McGregor Research Center, and he gave an overview of the history and status of the McGregor Research Center.

A tour was then given of the research center by Dr. Ryon Walker, and Mr. Barton Johnson and lunch followed at the meeting facility. Station reports started after lunch into the afternoon.

Dr. David Riley announced the members of the Resolutions Committee (Drs. Brittni Littlejohn, Rekaya Romdhane and Trent Smith) and the Nominating Committee (Drs. Jeremy Powell, Bryan Kutz, Brian Rude, and Rhonda Vann).

On May 25<sup>th</sup>, the group met at the meeting facility at the McGregor Research Center at 8:00 a.m. Dr. Bob Godfrey, NIFA Liaison, gave an update on the changes and outlook for the NIFA program. Station reports continued.

Dr. Bob Godfrey indicated that the current project would be terminating in September of 2024. He also indicated that we need to think about the plan and objectives for the rewrite and that it will need to be submitted in the fall of 2023 to start by October 1, 2024.

Dr. David Riley led the discussion on possible objectives for the next project. He encouraged everyone to continue to think of possible objectives and he shared a folder on Google Drive with all members to post their responses to an idea board for continued discussion. It was suggested to meet at the upcoming Southern Section Animal Science meeting in North Carolina to further discuss the objectives prior to the next annual meeting.

The nominating committee (Drs. Jeremy Powell, Bryan Kutz, Brian Rude, and Rhonda Vann) made the following nominations: Dr. Jeremy Powell (chair), Dr. Trent Smith (chair elect) and Dr. Brittni Littlejohn (secretary). The nominated individuals were elected by unanimous vote.

The resolution committee (Drs. Brittni Littlejohn, Rekaya Romdhane and Trent Smith) submitted their report (see Appendix C). The resolutions were approved by unanimous vote.

Dr. David Riley initiated discussion of the location for next year's meeting. Dr. Jeremy Powell invited the group to meet in Arkansas in 2023. The group accepted the offer.

The meeting was adjourned by Dr. David Riley at 12:00 p.m., May 25<sup>th</sup>, 2022.

Lunch was provided with a tour of additional facilities and projects at the research center by Dr. Ryon Walker and Barton Johnson.

Meeting minutes are respectfully submitted by Dr. Trent Smith, secretary.