Annual Meeting of S1075 Virtual via zoom™ Thursday, Jul 9, 2020, 11 AM-3 PM Central Time

Minutes

Attendees:

Sushil Adhikari – Auburn University

Hasan Atiyeh - Oklahoma State University

David Brune - University of Missouri

Dorin Boldor – Louisiana State University

Igathinanthane Cannayen - North Dakota State University

Julie Carrier – University of Tennessee

Chengci Chen - Montana State University

Joel Cuello - University of Arizona

Ali Demirici – Pennsylvania State University

Zhilang (Julia) Fan – University of California Davis

Zhengrong (Jimmy) Gu – South Dakota State University

Brendan Higgins – Auburn University

Haibo Huang – Virginia Tech

Ray Huhnke – Oklahoma State University

Loren Isom - University of Nebraska

Ajay Kumar - Oklahoma State University

Samir Khanal – University of Hawaii

Mi Li – University of Tennessee

Wengi Li - University of Kentucky

Carl Lira – Michigan State University

Can Liu – University of Kentucky

Nurun Nahar – North Dakota State University

Abby Olaleye - University of Kentucky

Raj Raman – Iowa State University

Kent Rausch – University of Illinois

Brain Richards - Cornell University

Roger Ruan – University of Minnesota

Troy Runge - University of Wisconsin

Chris Saffron – Michigan State University

Ajay Shah – Ohio State University

Jian Shi – University of Kentucky

Vijay Singh - University of Illinois

Ed Spang – University of California Davis

Wei Su – University of Hawaii

Xiuzhi (Susan) Sun – Kansas State University

Mike Tumbleson – University of Illinois

Juliana Vasco-Correa – Pennsylvania State University

Terry Walker - Clemson University

Donghai Wang – Kansas State University
Yi Wang – Auburn University
Lin Wei – South Dakota State University
Mark Wilkins – University of Nebraska
Al Womac – University of Tennessee
Bin Yang – Washington State University
Ruihong Zhang – University of California Davis
Yuxuan Zhang – University of Kentucky
Yi Zheng – Kansas State University

Agenda:

- 1. Introduction of attendees
- 2. Following states presented their reports: PA, MN, AZ, AL, CA, HI, IL, KS, KY, LA, MI, MN, MS, MO, NY, ND, OK, SC, SD, TN, VA, WA & WI.
- 3. Timothy Conner, NIFA representative on S1075, share following major updates from NIFA:
 - NIFA moved from DC to Kansas City. Despite shortage of staff at the new location, all capacity programs and funding are continued.
 - Competitive programs are also being continued.
 - Sustainable Agriculture system is our new CAP coordinate agriculture projects, which is our big awards that these are \$10 million awards. And over the first three years we've had now three caps in this body economy space mainly about products, a little bit about fuels, but it's been primarily focused on sort of the bow economy nature of that. And so I think that three out of 17 or so across all of the ag portfolio is pretty successful. And I hope that these multi state projects like this will be things that will be better fuel and feed that will allow you guys to reach out or work with each other's to look at ways in which you can sort of put together these.
 - USDA exploratory program was phased out to fit that scope in other programs.
 - We also are putting more effort now into New Investigator Award.
 - Sustainable ag systems call: We will release RFA, maybe a month or two back and then we've covered 19 and all the questions we've been getting in. We decided that probably wasn't good time to have a fully integrated, you know, that kind of complex project out there. So, there will be one coming out.

4. Business:

- a. Chris proposed 2021 S1075 meeting on Jul 22 and 23 in Lincoln, NE. Ali seconded. Majority voted for the motion.
- b. Secretary nomination: Ajay Kumar will be moving to Vice-chair and Chris Saffron will be moving to Chair position. Secretary position is now open for nomination. Chris nominated Jian Shi for the position. There was no other nomination and majority was in favor of the Jian Shi. Jian Shi was elected for the secretary position
- c. Writing new proposal for \$1075 will be initiated two years before the due date.

- d. Chris notified that NSF award for the meeting was available this year but was extended because of the pandemic. Next year, we will have funding to partially support student travel.
- 5. Meeting adjourned at 2:30 PM.

Officers:

Mark Wilkins, Chair Chris Saffron, Vice-Chair Ajay Kumar, Secretary