Southern Region Integrated Water Resources Coordinating Committee (SERA 43)

Inaugural Meeting, March 6-7, 2014 Atlanta, Georgia

Meeting Minutes

- 1. Introductions (Attendee list at the end)
- 2. Goals of meeting were discussed and Dr. Berger suggested that the reasons for "SERAs" are coordination among universities, capacity building and "clout."
- 3. Most participants were not familiar with "ERAs" so the concept of ERAs was discussed.
- 4. Purpose of SERA 43 was discussed.
- 5. "Rules of Operation" for SERA 43 were reviewed and provisionally modified. Attendees agreed to approve the "Rules of Operation" with the modifications and they will become part of the SERA43 work plan documentation. A three-tiered leadership/membership structure was developed. The executive committee consists of the incoming chair, current chair, and past chair, two administrators, and 1 representative from each of the four focus areas. The steering committee will contain 1 member from each university identified by the directors at their university. Membership will include everyone who wants to participate in SERA43.
- 6. Attendees discussed and determined regional priority water issues: water quantity (competition), restoration and recovery, water quality, education. Attendees self-identified into one of the four focus areas and developed information that will be included in the SERA43 work plan. The representatives for each of these groups are Michael Dukes (Competition for Water), Carmen Agouridis (Restoration), Deanna Osmond (Water Quality), and Brian Benham (Education). Leadership will be reviewed each year at the annual working meeting.
- 7. Zach Easton (Virginia Tech) was elected chair and Carmen Agouridis (University of Kentucky) was elected incoming-chair of SERA43. Each will serve in their capacity one year, after which, Zach will become the out-going chair and Carmen will assume the chair position.
- 8. Zach Easton and Mark McFarland will develop the work plan based on submission from

- each of the four focus areas. The work plan will be vetted by the executive committee and then the steering committee. After revision, a conference call of the executive and steering committees will occur.
- 9. Attendees decided it would be worth applying to NIFA for a regional water grant. Zach Easton will write and submit the one-page statement of interest to NIFA. The lead university for grant submission will be determined later.
- 10. NC State will explore hosting the website and a website committee was appointed consisting of Mark McFarland Mary Love Tagert, Cal Sawyer, Sam Dennis, and Deanna Osmond.
- 11. Regional/national meetings were discussed. It was agreed that the Water Education Summit will be at a subregional level and rotated between the eastern southern states and the western southern states. SERA43 will support it as an activity. SERA43 has already been approached by other regional water initiatives to host an annual water conference. We will either develop a proposal targeted at the NIFA Water conference initiative, be part of the SERA43 NIFA proposal, or combine forces with the national Soil and Water Conservation Society meeting.
- 12. Annual working meetings will be targeted for the end of February early March and will rotate through the southern states alphabetically. Alabama will host next year's meeting.

SERA 43 Attendees

Mark McFarland	Texas A&M University	ml-mcfarland@tamu.edu
Deanna Osmond	NC State	deannaosmond@ncsu.edu
Zach Easton	Virginia Tech	zeaston@vt.edu
Brian Benham	Virginia Tech	benham@vt.edu
Andrew Sharpley	Univ. Arkansas	sharpley@uark.edu
Mark Risse	UGA	mrisse@uga.edu

Karnita Garner	Alabama A&M	kfg0003@aces.edu
	University	

Paul Okweye	Alabama A&M	paul.okweye@aamu.edu
	University	

Maifan Silitonga	KY State Univ.	maifan.silitonge@kysu.edu
------------------	----------------	---------------------------

Mary Love Tagert	Miss. State Univ.	mltagert@abe.msstate.edu

Chris Gunter NCSU cgunter@ncsu.edu

Jairo Diaz Alcorn State Univ. jdiaz@alcorn.edu

David Radcliffe UGA dradclif@uga.edu

Wes Burger MSU wburger@msstate.edu

Juan Enciso Texas A&M University j-enciso@tamu.edu

Brian LeBlanc LSU bleblanc@agcenter.lsu.edu

Michael Dukes Univ. of Florida mddukes@ufl.edu

Carmen Agouridis Univ. of Kentucky carmen.agouridis@uky.edu

Jason vogel Oklahoma State Univ. jason.vogel@okstate.edu

Anand Jayakaran Clemson Univ. ajayaka@clemson.edu

Cal Sawyer Clemson Univ. calvins@clemson.edu

Eve Brantley Auburn Univ. brantef@auburn.edu

Chris Clark Univ. of Tennessee cdclark@utk.edu

Sam Dennis Tn. State Univ sdennis@tnstate.edu

John A. Grove Univ. of Kentucky jgrove@uky.edu

Kati Migliaccio Univ. of Florida klwhite@ufl.edu

Jeffrey Beasley LSU jbeasley@agcenter.lsu.edu

Jeff Mullen UGA jmullen@uga.edu

Manoj K. Jha NCA&T mkjha@ncat.edu

Chris Anderson Auburn Univ. andercj@auburn.edu

Mike Burchell NC State mike_burchell@ncsu.edu