## Brief minutes of the 2019 meeting of the W 3171 USDA Hatch and Multistate Group Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, New Orleans, LA January 19 – 20, 2019

## January 19, 2019

The group administrator, Milan Shipka (University of Alaska Fairbanks) called the meeting to order at 1:10 pm. In attendance were Rod Geisert (University of Missouri), Brett White (University of Nebraska Lincoln), Carl Jiang (Louisiana State University), Kiho Lee (Virginia Tech), Quint Winger (Colorado State University), Curt Youngs (Iowa State University), Young Tang (University of Connecticut), Irina Poleajava (Utah State University) and Clay Isom (Utah State University).

Milan provided administrative notes including:

- Summary of the previous meeting in Fairbanks, AK on 5/31-6/1/208
- Information about the renewal application: renewal has been submitted with four potential reviewers (outside) (Feb-Mar). Multistate review panel will review the application after expert reviewers. First Wed of April, email will be sent out. New project will start in Aug. An emphasis on genome editing was made. There is optimism that the application would be approved.
- Discussion of meeting time for 2020, immediately before or after IETS. Due to budget constraints, it has been better in the past to schedule the meeting immediately before IETS, which allows the group to use a room without additional cost. In addition, the possibility of having the meeting during the IETS meeting was proposed.

Stations started providing their annual reports. Stations that reported during the first day of meeting were Colorado State University, University of Connecticut (Tang), and Utah State University.

It was proposed that each station prepares 1-2 slides to help illustrate the report.

The meeting was adjurned at 5:00 pm.

## January 20, 2019

The group chair, Kiho Lee, called the meeting to order at 8:00 am. In attendance were Curt Youngs (Iowa State University), Kiho Lee (Virginia Tech), Rod Geisert (University of Missouri), Matt Wheeler (University of Illinois), Anna Denicol (University of California Davis), Xiuchun (Cindy) Tian (University of Connecticut), Pablo Ross (University of California Davis), Jean Feugang (Mississippi State University), Clay Isom (Utah State

University), Brett White (University of Nebraska Lincoln), Carl Jiang (Louisiana State University), Quint Winger (Colorado State University), Young Tang (University of Connecticut), Irina Poleajava (Utah State University) and Charles Rosenbanks (University of Arkansas).

Stations continued to provide their annual reports. Stations providing reports during the second day were: Iowa State University, University of Missouri, University of California Davis (reports from Denicol and Ross), University of Illinois, Virginia Tech, Mississippi State University, University of Connecticut (Tian), University of Nebraska Lincoln, and University of Arkansas.

The idea of each station preparing 1-2 slides to accompany their reports was briefly discussed and it was agreed by the group that this option will be available for those members who wish to illustrate their report during the meeting. Discussion about potential collaborations between stations followed.

Young Tang (Connecticut) was nominated to serve as Secretary for the W3171 Technical Committee in 2019. Clay Isom (Utah) made a motion to approve the nomination and Pablo Ross (California) seconded the motion. The motion to elect Young Tang (Connecticut) as Secretary was unanimously approved. Anna Denicol will serve as Chair for the W3171 Technical Committee in 2019.

The 2020 meeting of the W3171 group will take place in New York City, NY, in January 2020 concurrent with the 45<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the IETS. Suggested times were 1 to 5 pm or 5 to 9 pm on January 14, and 8 am to 12 pm on January 15. Final dates will be determined by the group before the next meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm.

Respectively submitted,

Anna C. Denicol - Secretary W3171 Technical Committee