# Minutes NE – 1034 Technical Committee Business Meeting University of Arkansas Fayetteville, AR

The October 5, 2009 NE-1034 Technical Committee Business meeting was called to order at 8:00 a.m. by Chair Sue Lamont.

In the absence of the elected Secretary, Juan Carlos Rodriguez-LeCompte, Bob Taylor volunteered to assume the Secretary duties. The members further decided by acclamation that Bob Taylor would rotate as the 2010 Technical Committee Chair and Juan Carlos would serve as Secretary for that meeting.

### **NIFA Representative's Report**

Muquarrab Qureshi, NIFA Representative, complemented the Technical Committee on the quality of the meeting. He discussed the October 1, 2009 change of CSREES to the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA). Dr. Roger Beachy, formerly of the Danforth Foundation, has been appointed by the President to be the first NIFA Director. Dr. Rajiv Shah is the NIFA's Chief Scientist after prior service with the Gates Foundation. The structural composition of NIFA has not been finalized but all legislative authorities remain with the organization. The future agenda will be outcome driven rather than priority driven.

## Administrative Advisor's Report

Bradley Hillman, Administrative Advisor, observed that the NE-1034 Technical Committee provides clear evidence for outcomes of collaboration. He further indicated that newer members who join the project provide stimulus to the research effort in terms of technology and vigor.

Chair Sue Lamont acknowledged the hard work of Drs. Qureshi and Hillman.

#### **Preparation of Chair's Report**

Sue Lamont requested that all reports be provided to her as MS Word documents to facilitate preparation of the Chair's report.

#### **Future Meetings**

Mark Parcells will host the 2010 meeting at the University of Delaware. The membership voted to avoid, to the extent possible, a schedule conflict with the Avian Immunology Research Group in Budapest, Hungary on October 7 – 10, 2010.

2011 = Ton Schat will host at Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

2012 = Mohammad Heidari will host at ADOL, East Lansing, MI

#### **Distribution of Station Reports**

A question arose about distributing station reports to non-members. Sue Lamont suggested that non-members send their requests to the Chair by a specified deadline. The Chair would forward these external requests to the members who then could provide or withhold their station reports.

#### **Visitor Policy**

Gisela Erf mentioned the policy for visitors. In prior years, visitors were added to a special invitation list. For 2009, the members were provided a list of those visitors who might attend the meeting. There was general agreement among the members that 1) this process should continue as it worked satisfactorily; and 2) future meetings would begin with official introduction of all attendees.

#### **New Member**

Sergei Golovan, University of Delaware, was nominated for Technical Committee membership by Shayan Sharif. Mark Parcells seconded the motion. Bob Taylor asked that Sergei be advised of the attendance policy and the membership responsibilities. Mark Parcells said that he and Calvin Keeler will communicate that information to Sergei.

Bob Taylor will mail the current address list to all members and collaborators with a stated deadline for additions and corrections. The updated list will then be distributed.

#### Other Business

Muquarrab Qureshi mentioned possible liaisons with other technical committees. He pointed out that the S-10 Technical Committee will hold a meeting in France with several dairy industry groups hosting the committee. He added the possibility of coordinating the NE-1034 meeting with international gatherings such as the Avian Immunology Research Group.

Bradley Hillman cautioned that Agricultural Experiment Station funds are not available for international travel.

#### **Thanks**

Sue Lamont thanked the following individuals and organizations:

Gisela Erf = meeting host

Jeannine Durdik = Welcome reception host

Tyson, Inc. = Sponsor

University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture = Sponsor

University of Arkansas Department of Poultry Science = Sponsor

Tyson Chair of Immunology = Sponsor

Gisela Erf thanked Sue Lamont for her service as Chair. She also recognized Sue for her eventful 2009 when she was elected a Poultry Science Association Fellow and won the PSA Embrex Award.

Bob Taylor moved to adjourn the meeting. Pat Wakenell seconded the motion which passed without opposition

Respectfully,

Robert L. Taylor, Jr.

Robert L. Taylor . J.

Secretary

November 6, 2009